top of page



Treble Winners 2022/23




Year Founded


Joined City Football Group




United Kingdom


1 UEFA Champions League


9 First Division/Premier Leagues

2022/23, 2021/22, 2020/21, 2018/19, 2017/18, 2013/14, 2011/12, 1967/68, 1936/37

7 FA Cups

2022/23, 2018/19, 2010/11, 1968/69, 1955/56, 1933/34, 1903/04

1 European Cup Winners’ Cup


1 UEFA Super Cup


8 League Cups

2020/21, 2019/20, 2018/19, 2017/18, 2015/16, 2013/14, 1975/76, 1969/70

1 Women’s Super League


3 Women’s FA Cups

2019/20, 2018/19, 2016/17

4 Women’s League Cups

2021/22, 2018/19, 2016, 2014

3 FA Youth Cups

2019/20, 2007/08, 1985/86

3 Premier League 2s

2022/23, 2021/22, 2020/21


Manchester City are one of the most successful English clubs in the sport's history. The Club’s roots can be traced back to 1880 and the parish of East Manchester. 

First titled St Mark’s West Gorton, the Club became known as Manchester City in 1894, and through many ups and downs, it has become one of the most recognisable and successful names in the global game. The first trophy, the FA Cup, was won in 1904, with it the accolade of being the first team in Manchester to win a major title.

City’s original home at Hyde Road was destroyed by fire in 1920 – and in 1923, they moved to Maine Road. The Club called this iconic stadium home until 2003 before relocating to the Etihad Stadium, a goal-kick from where the Club was born. 

City’s early successes came with the Club winning the FA Cup in 1904, 1934 and 1956 – and when the Club was crowned English champions in 1936/37. The Club’s golden era followed when they were once again crowned English champions for the 1967/68 season, won the FA Cup in 1969 and the League Cup in both 1970 and 1976 and the Club’s first continental title, the European Cup Winners’ Cup, in 1970. City honours this special time in Club history with a permanent statue at the Etihad Stadium depicting Club greats Colin Bell, Francis Lee and Mike Summerbee – as well as the naming of the Colin Bell stand. 

City’s current period of success followed its acquisition in 2008 by His Highness Sheikh Mansour. 

A glittering recent history that has produced the first UEFA Champions League success in 2023 – and elevated City to become only the second team in history to win the Treble of the UEFA Champions League, the English Premier League, and the FA Cup. They later became the first team to add the European Super Cup to that haul in the same year.

Manchester City made even more history in 2023 winning the FIFA Club World Cup for the first time. In doing so, the Men’s First Team became the first-ever club to simultaneously hold the UEFA Champions League, Premier League, FA Cup, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup titles.

The Club’s most successful manager has been the current man in charge, Pep Guardiola, who has won five Premier League titles, two FA Cups, four League Cups, the Club’s first-ever UEFA Champions League trophy, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup.

The modern version of the Club is built on a vision for sustainability, with an academy structure designed to support long-term first team success. Like all CFG clubs, they aim to create a lasting connection and legacy with the local community via their charitable work.  

The origins of Manchester City Women’s Football Club can be found in Manchester City Ladies FC which was founded in 1988 via City’s community programme. In the following decades, their affiliation with the Men’s team took various forms, culminating in a formal partnership in 2012. The Club entered the FA Women’s Super League in April 2013 and was re-launched as Manchester City Women’s Football Club in January 2014. 

In their inaugural season, the Club clinched a first ever trophy, the FA WSL Continental Cup. In 2016, they were crowned the FA WSL Champions for the first time in their history, lifted the FA WSL Continental Tyres Cup for a second time and became Women’s FA Cup winners. In 2018/19, they scooped a domestic double with the Women’s FA Cup and FA WSL Tyres Continental Tyres Cup in 2021/22, and they lifted the Continental Tyres Cup for a fourth time. 

Beyond the First Team trophies and financial successes, Manchester City has become defined by a philosophy and focus on sustainability; an approach that respects the Club’s deep history and continues to build upon this foundation since His Highness Sheikh Mansour became custodian in 2008. 

The Manchester City Academy has become the gold standard within global football. The Academy is the destination of choice for the world’s best young and established footballing talent with many graduating to First Teams. In 2022/23, 64 graduates of the Manchester City Academy played for teams in the top five European Leagues and the professional English Football Leagues. 

Beyond a football education, Academy players receive academic curriculum, personal development and life skills. The formula has led to consistent success. From 2020/21, City’s Academy made history by winning the Premier League titles at the Under-18 and Under-21 levels for three consecutive seasons, emulating the success of the First Teams.  


Ferran Soriano


Txiki Begiristain


Developing a Year-Round Entertainment Destination

Phil Foden: Hometown Hero




Coming Soon

bottom of page